Upper 90’s All-WNY Mens College Team

Upper90 December 13, 2012 0
Upper 90’s All-WNY Mens College Team

With the Hoosiers on top of the college world, it’s due time we refocus ourselves on the 2012 Western New York college season before moving forward to a 2013 that will feature new mens coaches at Buffalo, Buffalo State and D’Youville at a minimum.

It was a year of remarkable feats: the Niagara men became the first mens D-I team to go to the NCAA Tournament since Buffalo State in 1971. Medaille reclaimed its spot atop the AMCC, but a local competitor may have arrived in surprising Hilbert. Bernie Feldmann’s ECC program continues to build itself toward being a juco power.

While it’s impossible for a staff of our size to see every game, we watch more college soccer than most. We don’t claim perfection, but here’s our analysis of the best of the best for 2012 in WNY mens college soccer

GK – Ben Petricek, Niagara

The numbers are almost explicit enough: 0.84 GAA, .851 save pct, 13-2-4 record, 97 saves. But where Petricek was especially valuable was in the build-up to Niagara’s dream season, keeping the net fairly clean while his teammates found their way to the the program’s first NCAA tourney.

D – Rene De Zorzi, Niagara
D – Brad Beaumont, St. Bonaventure
D – Jacob Conde, Medaille
It’s a group noted for its offensive prowess: Hudson scored an almost ridiculous five goals and three assists from the back end, while De Zorzi was almost as impressive with four goals and four helpers. Beaumont is a 6’1″ force who wins balls in nearly any way possible and while Conde doesn’t get a lot of verbal high-fives on an offensive Medaille team, he’s a special player.


M – Will Hudson, Canisius
M – Richard Craven, Buffalo
M – Denver Spearman, Canisius
M- Emmett O’Connor, St. Bonaventure
Craven doesn’t do a lot of flash like teammate Maksym Kowal, but the Brit is solid through-and-through and does not make many mistakes. Spearman is the most complete player in Western New York and played unhealthy through most of the season, missing a handful of games. O’Connor averaged a point-per-game during A-10 play, totaling 12 points on the entire season.


F – Gavin Falconer, Canisius
F – George Tor, Medaille
F – Bryan Da Cruz, Niagara
Falconer, who plays for Erie Admirals of the NPSL in the summer, scored 10 goals and was part of a venerable duo with Asani Samuels for the surprising Griffs. Tor is an almost-certain future pro who scored a ridiculous 17 goals for coach Dan Krzyzanowicz’s Mavs. Da Cruz didn’t just score for the Purps, he buried important, historic goals. Not bad.


GK – Rich Bund, Erie CC – 184 saves, 1.52 GAA, .880 save pct
D – Greg Hoffman, Medaille – NT native started most games on team, 19
D – Lukas Fedler, Buffalo – German import is quiet, sturdy, smart.
D – Nick Garcia, Niagara
D – Steven Carcaterro, St. Bonaventure – started all 19 games
M – Mario Williams, Hilbert – 9 goals, 7 assists for upstart Hawks
M – Alex Drainville, Erie CC – 6 assists led team. OP native from St. Francis HS.
M – Jordan Lynch, Hilbert
F- Callum Wilmott, Niagara – 8 goals, 3 assists
F – Pablo Ordonez, Medaille – 8 goals, 6 assists for ECC transfer. Technical, creative
F – Asani Samuels, Canisius – behemoth of a forward broke out for Griffs


GK – Jon Viscosi, Buffalo
D – Alex De Carolis, Canisius – three goals from the back for the freshman
D – Jay Dry, Fredonia
D – Jared Contreras, Daemen
D – Scott Cvetkoski, Hilbert – started all 17 games, rugged captain
M – Patrick Schuber, Fredonia
M – Maks Kowal, UB
M – CJ Scirto, Buffalo State
M – Scott Falla, Niagara County CC – 9 goals led team
F – Mark Tellgren, Erie CC
F – Josh Pfunter, D’Youville – 15 pts tied for team lead despite missing four games



Coach of the Year (tie): Chase Brooks, Niagara, and Dermot McGrane, Canisius
Hard to separate the two who are turning the Battle of the Bridge into what the schools would like it to become. Brooks may’ve won the MAAC battle, but what McGrane is doing at a Canisius program that has historically had problems doing much of anything is nothing short of brilliant.
Goalkeeper of the Year: Brett Petricek, Niagara
Defender of the Year: Rene De Zorzi, DF, Niagara
Offensive Player of the Year: Gavin Falconer, FW, Canisius
D-III Player of the Year: George Tor, FW, Medaille
Juco Player of the Year: Alex Drainville, MF, ECC
Most Valuable Player: Brett Petricek, GK, Niagara